Award of Merit

Warning: Missing argument 1 for get_breadcrumbs(), called in /home/patafoun/public_html/pata/wp-content/themes/pata/template-parts/content-page.php on line 18 and defined in /home/patafoun/public_html/pata/wp-content/themes/pata/functions.php on line 301
  • Default Size
  • Decrease Text
  • Increase Text

The PATA ‘Award of Merit’ is given to individuals who have consistently contributed to the Association and the PATA chapter network over an extended period.  The award was presented during PATA Annual Summit 2016 in Guam, USA.

Peter Semone, managing partner of the strategic advisory organization, Destination Human Capital, and founder of the internationally acclaimed Lanith – Lao National Institute of Tourism and Hospitality vocational school in Lao PDR.

He has also acted as Chief Technical Adviser and Team Leader for European donor and Asian Development Bank projects. He also consults for United Nations agencies including the World Tourism Organzation (UNWTO) and the International Labour Organisation.

This award was presented to Scott Supernaw, former PATA Chairman and Managing Director – International of Tauck, Inc., USA.

Scott Supernaw has extensive experience in global marketing and business development from well-established brands in the travel industry. He is a founding member and a two-term Chairman of the United States Tour Operators Association and has served on the advisory boards of the French, Swiss and Israeli government tourism boards.

award of merit

Stephen Chang, Managing Director, Fuller Express Corporation, Chinese Taipei, and Chairman, PATA Chinese Taipei Chapter; and Kate Chang, Regional Director – China for the Los Angeles Convention & Tourism Board, China, and Chairperson of the PATA China (Beijing) Chapter.

merit1Mr Shiv Kapuria, Area Sales Manager -N.E & Caribbean, Air India, USA and Chairman of PATA New England Chapter won Award of Merit for his dedication to PATA.  Shiv’s drive in celebrating Asia-Pacific has led to a number of success and areas of recognition.


Past Awards of Merit

2017    Peter Semone

2016     Scott Supernaw

2015     Stephen Chang and Kate Chang

2014     Shiv Kapuria

2013     Bill Calderwood and Bernhard Clever

2012     Muriel Anderson and Tom Nutley

2011     Barbara Doyle and Elly Hutabarat

2010     Mr John King

2009     Mr Luzi Matzig and Ms Pilar Laguana

2008     Mr Soon-Hwa Wong and Mr Peter Trautmann

2007     Mr Tim Robinson

2006     Mr Brian Cuthbertson and Mr David Paulon

2005     Capt CP Krishnan Nair and Mr Mohan Prasad Khanal

2004     Klaus Billep, Hiran Cooray and Tony Thirlwell

2003     Datuk Abdullah Jonid, Mr Kevin Murphy and Ms Margaret Wilson