Gallery of Legends

Warning: Missing argument 1 for get_breadcrumbs(), called in /home/patafoun/public_html/pata/wp-content/themes/pata/template-parts/content-page.php on line 18 and defined in /home/patafoun/public_html/pata/wp-content/themes/pata/functions.php on line 301
  • Default Size
  • Decrease Text
  • Increase Text

The PATA Gallery of Legends is located, appropriately, at Honolulu International Airport in Hawaii – the birthplace of the Association (formed as the Pacific Interim Travel Association). The Gallery of Legends was conceived by former PATA president Pierre Doley  (1991-2) who worked for KLM Royal Dutch Airlines.  The Gallery comprises striking bronze plaques that commemorate the outstanding achievements of individuals in the field of travel and tourism. The first such award, in 1993, honoured Juan Trippe – founder of Pan American World Airways. Subsequent plaques have been cast in memory of, amongst others, Sir Edmund Hillary, Thomas Cook and Conrad Hilton.  The most recent award is in honour of the life and achievements of Chuck Gee. This plaque will soon be added to the Gallery of Legends in Honolulu.


Divider2014 – Zhuhai

PATA is very pleased to announce that an honour was bestowed on PATA Life Member Chuck Yim Gee, who was named to the PATA Gallery of Legends for his lifetime achievement in establishing an important human legacy for the worldwide travel industry through education, training and research.

Dr. Chuck Yim Gee, Dean Emeritus of the University of Hawaii’s School of Travel Industry Management (UH TIM), was cited as the co-founder and effective leader of the first university level programme in tourism administration for the Pacific-Asia region from 1967-2000.  The school’s founding in the late 1950s coincided with the rise of modern tourism in Hawaii and the Asia Pacific (AP) region, and served as an original model for other universities in the region.



Past Inductees

2010     General Chalermchai Charuvastra
2006     Walt Disney
2005     Joseph F Sutter
2003     F Marvin Plake
2002     Sir Hudson Fysh
2001     George “Pete” Wimberly
2000    James Michener
1999     Ambassador LW Bill Lane
1998     Sir Edmund Hillary
1997     William J Mullahey
1996     JD Tata
1995     Conrad Hilton
1994     Thomas Cook
1993     Juan Trippe