SPTO to attend AgriTourism Policy Workshop in Samoa

  • Default Size
  • Decrease Text
  • Increase Text

sptoFUJI, December 9, 2016– The South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO) will attend the Samoa AgriTourism Policy Setting Workshop in Apia next week.

The main aim of the workshop is to promote the sustainable use of local food by the tourism industry through strengthened inter-sectoral policies.

Resource persons will share their experiences on strengthening linkages between agriculture, trade and tourism to support sustainable local businesses.

The workshop will be attended by policy makers, government officials, private sector delegates, chefs and actors from the hospitality sector, civil society, academia and international and regional partners.

The three-day workshop will feature presentations, panel discussions and field trips.

SPTO’s Investment Specialist Kelera Cavuilati will serve as panelist on a discussion on “Policy Forum: Regional perspective on opportunities/ experiences to support Agritourism development and investment”.

The panel will discuss the current policies and frameworks in support of agriculture and tourism which also promote the private sector development in the Pacific both at commercial and small-scale levels. It will build upon the recommendations of the 2nd Pacific Agribusiness Forum held in Apia in August.

The workshop is organised by the Government of Samoa and Brussels-based Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA) in collaboration with Pacific Islands Private Sector Organisation.

The Samoa AgriTourism Policy Setting Workshop will be held at the Samoa Convention Centre.

Based in Suva, SPTO works with 16 Pacific island countries and Timor-Leste to market and develop tourism in the South Pacific region.



About SPTO

Established in 1983 as the Tourism Council of the South Pacific, the South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO) is the mandated organisation representing Tourism in the region. Its 18 Government members are American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Marshall Islands, New Caledonia, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and the People’s Republic of China. In addition to government members, the South Pacific Tourism Organisation enlists a private sector membership base.